CEAP & Venous Severity Scoring

Venous Disease Is Complex, But It Can Be Described

The first attempts to classify chronic venous disorders focused solely on clinical appearance and led to a lack of diagnostic precision and inability to reproduce treatment results.

The CEAP classification consensus document was written by the American Venous Forum in 1994 to provide a comprehensive objective classification. It was universally accepted and endorsed, with most published papers now using all or portions of the CEAP system. It was comprised of two parts: classification and severity scoring.


C- clinical manifestation
E- etiologic factors
A- anatomic distribution
P- pathophysiologic dysfunction

Severity Scoring

  1. Number of anatomic segments affected
  2. Grading of signs and symptoms
  3. Disability

As a result of now meaningful scientific communication of venous disease, improvements in diagnosis and treatment followed. This naturally led to the need to update and refine CEAP. Based on international consensus recommendations the AVF published a revised CEAP document in 2004.