IAC Earns ISO 9001:2008 and 27001:2005 Certifications


Contacts: Sandra Katanick and Tamara Sloper;
marketing@intersocietal.org; 800-838-2110

IAC Earns ISO 9001:2008 and 27001:2005 Certifications

OCTOBER 2013 | The Intersocietal Accreditation Commission (IAC) announced today that it has earned certification for compliance with the International Organization for Standardization (ISO)’s 9001:2008 and 27001:2005 standards.

According to Geoffrey A. Rose, MD, FACC, FASE, IAC Chairperson, “Just as IAC accreditation demonstrates to the outside world a facility’s commitment to quality and quality improvement, so ISO certification demonstrates IAC’s commitment to a disciplined approach in assaying that quality and protecting that information.”

Upon completion of an extensive systems evaluation, IAC now possesses certification and is designated as a quality certified organization in two specific areas:

  • ISO 9001:2008, Quality Management System certification assures the incorporation of a process approach when developing, implementing and improving the effectiveness of a quality management system designed to enhance customer satisfaction. It includes obtaining the results of process performance and effectiveness, and continual improvement of processes based on objective measurement.
  • ISO 27001:2005, a rigorous certification for information security management, defines the information security controls and other forms of risk treatment required to prevent and defend against potential data system vulnerabilities. The certification ensures that the information security controls continue to meet security needs on an ongoing basis.

Sandra Katanick, CAE, IAC CEO stated,  “Having set standards for quality and measured the compliance of participating facilities for more than two decades, it was time for IAC to undergo a similar evaluation to document its adherence to established standards, in this case those specific to business practices. I am proud that our customers can have confidence that they are doing business with an organization that has undergone a rigorous evaluation and is now certified for its adherence and commitment to quality management systems and information security.”

Of the accreditation organizations designated to accredit suppliers of advanced diagnostic imaging under the Medicare Improvements for Patients and Providers Act of 2008 (MIPPA), IAC is the only such organization that has been certified as ISO 9001:2008 and 27001:2005 compliant. IAC’s certification provides customers with confidence that the accrediting body has undergone an extensive evaluation by a third-party certification body. By earning this recognition, IAC has demonstrated its dedication to the pursuit of quality operations, in line with the standards to which it holds participating, applicant facilities as well as its commitment to continuous improvement.

Cindy Weiland, IAC Chief Compliance Officer spoke about the organization’s future plans, noting, “Although achieving certification is an accomplishment it is only the beginning of IAC’s commitment to the quality of our management processes and information security. The routine monitoring of our systems and the ability to document continued improvement is imperative in maintaining certification and taking the IAC into the future.”

About ISO

Established in 1947, the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) is the world’s largest developer and publisher of international standards. ISO international standards provide guidance and tools for companies and organizations that want to ensure that their products and services consistently meet customers’ requirements and that quality is consistently improved.  Learn more about ISO at iso.org. Certified, third-party auditors conduct an extensive audit to verify compliance with the ISO standards before certification is granted.

About IAC

A nonprofit organization highly regarded for its imaging accreditation programs since 1990, the IAC is committed to its mission of improving health care through accreditation, through a rigorous peer review process. To date, the IAC accrediting divisions have granted accreditation to more than 12,000 sites throughout the United States, Canada and Puerto Rico. IAC accreditation is widely respected within the medical community, as illustrated by the support of more than 30 national medical societies. Varying per modality and practice setting, IAC accreditation is required in some states and regions by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and by numerous private insurers.